CreateMacro no response to typing hotkey

I’m completely new to this. The instructions say create new macro, choose hotkey type, type the hotkey (example provided was ^-M)

I can type keys until the cows come hoe because none of them elicit a response from the UI.

This is on Sierra.

Can’t use the app if I can’t define a hotkey.

Please help

The shortcut keys don't contain a dash i.e. "^M" not "^-M", see the image below.

Becomes this :slight_smile:

In addition, the same actions apply when you are assigning a hotkey trigger in a macro

Click in the box, hold down your modifier keys and type a key on the keyboard.

I strongly recommend running the interactive tutorial (Help->Tutorial).

Hi,
The sequence of steps that I followed came directly from the tutorial. It said there would be a blue box labeled ‘type’ and that I should press a key. I tried practically every key on the keyboard but got no response to any of them.

Do think if I repeat the exercise a fifth time I will get a different result?

Thanks,
Dan

1 Like

ok, here’s what I did. Where did I screw up?

I'm not sure, but I can assure you that creating a macro and assigning a hot key works very well. I have never had it fail, and have never seen anyone else report this issue.

Perhaps this short video will help you:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/7107976/KM/KM-7.3-Create-Macro.mp4

Hi,
Apparently it is not allowed to press the hotkey until the macro has a
name. duh...

Anyway, I have created the 5 macros that I want. They worked once I got
the actions enables (not sure why some are enabled by default and others
are not).
Then I logged off and on again. Since then none of them work even
thought they are all "active' when examined in the editor. See attached.

I'm confused by this. There must be some other secret step that I have
yet to discover. Perhaps you can enlighten me.

Thanks,
Dan

Global Macro Group Macros.kmmacros (6.11 KB)

I looked at your macros, and they look just fine.