Creating a series of folders based on user inputs

Hello.
I've been struggling with this problem for a few hours so I thought I would ask for help.
I'm trying to create a macro to take user entered text and create a series of folders using the text.
I have managed to get it working when using a single set of variables but for the life of me I can't get it working with two sets.
Please can someone take a look and tell me where I'm going wrong?

In the macro 'Job Count 1' is currently working fine and as I want it to.
'Job Count 2' works until it hits the 'Agent 2' variable sets.
This is my first time using KM but I've previously used AppleScript.

Many thanks for any help!
Chris.

Keyboard Maestro 8.2.1 β€œCapture Folders” Macro

Capture Folders.kmmacros (21 KB)

Hi @c_cooper88,

I haven't downloaded and tested your macro, but could it be that a space is missing in the variable name you use when attempting to create the "Second Agent" folder ? You specify the path %FinderInsertionLocation%/%Variable%Date%/%Variable%Agent2% but earlier on in the macro when requesting user input, the variable name is defined as Agent 2 (with a space):

Here, the left-hand box is the variable (Agent 2) and the right-hand box is the default value. Regardless of what you intended the right-hand box here to have as its contents, it seems that the folder to be created should want to use %Variable%Agent 2% as its name.

Then skimming down, I can see formatting errors of similar ilk, e.g. with %Variable%Address2% instead of %Variable%Address 2%, etc.

Did you consider writing the bulk of this macro in AppleScript and just using that in an Execute an AppleScript action ? It might have been easier and more efficient upon execution too (although I don't know this to be a certainty).

1 Like

Hey, thanks for that. I didn't realise they had to be the same spelling.
It now runs, but still fails when trying to create any combination of the photos, plans or epc subfolders.