Excel sheet sort and extract from KM

I have a master .csv file separated by comma, I would like to pull out all rows with the identical fields in a column named 'category' into a separate file and then preferably encrypt this too with a particular password (this last part is optional)....

e.g. let's say that I have 10 rows in the file with many columns. One of the column is named 'category' the rows that have identical fields for 'category' should be pulled out into a separate file.

category of fruits, and the rows have the name of the fruit in the column under the heading 'category' there are 3 rows which have apple in them and 7 which state 'mandarin'. I would like a new .csv to be created where all 3 rows of 'apple' are there and another .csv file with the 'mandarin'

Is this possible if so how? basically the function is to search and pull out all rows where the cell under the column named 'category' is identical.

Many thanks for your assistance.

Here is an image and I would like to pull out all rows and put them into separate files where the cells under the column named Defendant name match. In this case all rows with RBS in the column named 'Defendant name' would all be in the file and a new file would be created each for 'Oracel Financial...', 'RBS' and 'Royal Bank of Scotl...' these are not all the possible names.

Since your workflow is 100% within Excel, you might consider using Excel VBA or AppleScript for your solution. I think a KM solution would need to use AppleScript.

But don't overlook Excel VBA. It is very powerful, and easy to use/learn.
You can start by recording an Excel macro of the steps you need to use.

1 Like

Hiya, no its not in excel its just a .csv file.

Well, since your topic title is "Excel sheet sort and extract from KM", it let me to believe you were using Excel.