Is this JavaScript?

Hi everyone,

I'm trying to figure out a source of web code. Does anyone recognize this code as being JavaScript?

If so, do you know of any definitive source to learn enough JavaScript that I can program KM to run this code? It is part of a form on a website I want to fill out.

I'm not wanting to become an expert in JavaScript ... just want to verify this is what I'm dealing with and the quickest route to learn enough about it to get KM to autopopulate this field.

Thanks!
Brandon

Not JS – just HTML web markup.

You would need to give a concrete example of what you are trying to do before anyone can really help you, I think.

Interesting!

Hmm ...

Yes, this is for a site that I have to input student notes into (I'm a college instructor). Here is how that form looks on the page:

I just can't figure out how to automate the KM script to automatically select the option I need. Even something like "click here" with the down arrow and picking a choice on the list doesn't work.

That is why I thought maybe it was JavaScript and I had to go after it another way.

Any ideas?

Thanks,
Brandon

I don't know JavaScript, and you might be able to select that with JavaScript, but you don't need to.

Try this:

1. Load the webpage
  2. Press 'tab' to get to the drop down list
  3. Press 'V' to select the first "Voicemail" entry
  4. Press 'V' again to (hopefully) select the second "Voicemail" entry

If that works, then all you need Keyboard Maestro to do is automate "Press Keystroke" three times to mimic those three keys.

If that doesn't work, try other keystrokes to see if you can get the right drop down entry.

Thanks for the suggestion!

I forgot to mention that this DOES indeed work. I can do this manually and select the entry I want.

But when I first attempted this in KM, it doesn't seem to do anything. It almost seems like it ignores the V keystroke. Another reason why I thought something fancier might be behind that menu selection.