Keyboard Maestro 2.1.3… on Mojave?

I've been playing around with Snow Leopard this weekend on my 2007 iMac. Mostly trying to see what works and what doesn't (ironically enough, Safari doesn't work on lots of sites, but Google Chrome does).

Anyway, of course I wanted to get a version of Keyboard Maestro on it… and my searches led me to https://www.stairways.com/main/download which has a nice chart of all of the versions of Keyboard Maestro to use depending on your version of macOS/Mac OS X/OS X :wink:

{Why don't all software companies do that?!?!}

Also, the "Find My License" will send not only the current version, but all the previous licenses that I've held, too.

{Why don't all software companies do that?!?!}

Anyway…

What led me to post is seeing this on https://www.stairways.com/main/download:

All versions of Keyboard Maestro back to 2.1.3 work with macOS Mojave.

LOLWUT?!

Ok, I am not a developer, but this crazy to me.

To be clear, 2.1.3 lists as a requirement "Mac OS X 10.3.9+" aka "Panther" which was released April 15, 2005.

How can it still run on Mojave?! (I did download it and try it out… the biggest roadblocks were macOS security warnings (Gatekeeper) which didn't even exist back then, I think. But it does still work.

4 Likes

Yes, I am very happy with the (very limited information) customer database I have and it's utility. I keep the minimum amount of data in it, but it has all your licenses, all the versions and download information.

I also like the download page (which frankly I refer to myself) with its detail on what version works for which. And while I only sell the current version, I happily add older licenses to accounts after a purchase, so if you own v8, but need v5, that's easily accommodated.

I also have each of the old versions of the documentation pages available.