KM to Narrow Choices

Thanks in advance for the help. I am a relatively long-time KM user, but I am not a developer or computer professional. I am wondering if one of my current workflows would be improved by switching from TextExpander to Keyboard Maestro for a particular task.

I am a physician and slogging my way through the major change to our diagnosis codes. Where I used to have one code for “Pain in foot,” I know have lots of codes that I could use: Pain in right leg, pain in left leg, pain in right foot, pain in left foot, pain in left ankle, etc. Right now I am using a Text Expander trigger that gives me a drop down box to pick which of the pain codes I want.

I was thinking of making a KM shortcut that gives me a conflict palette with all of the pain codes and descriptions, and then using the keyboard to drill down to the correct code, having KM print the description and code. I started working on it, and thought that it didn’t really save me much from using TE, but I was wondering if there is a better way to do this with either of these tools.

Thanks very much for any suggestions, or examples,

Mike

Mike — do you by chance use LaunchBar? I do, and would, in your shoes, look into the LaunchBar Snippets feature. Many programs allow you to insert text by shortcut; the advantages of LaunchBar are, first and most important, its look-ahead search, and second, the ability to add snippets as a batch of text files.

The look-ahead search starts the search immediately (with the first character typed), and narrows it in real time as more characters are added to the search string. The characters do not have to be consecutive in the snippet to match the search string (they just have to be sequential).