$KMVAR not recognized (I think) SOLVED!

Hello All,

I am brand new to KBM but my mind is agog with its potential!

After much reading and searching of topics on this forum I am trying my hand at my first macro. Despite reading the topics I could find and piecing together the attached macro, I cannot create a new folder.

Would anyone be kind enough to point out where I am going wrong? Any help would be appreciated tremendously.

Thanks!
Beem

Create client folders.kmmacros (3.8 KB)

Here are some factors I found that could explain why your macro isn't working as intended:

1. The macro was in a group that only works when Finder is the frontmost application. This means that even if the macro is flawless, it won't do what you want unless you are actually in Finder when you run it. As the point of a macro like this seems to be the ability to create new folders regardless of what else you're doing, making it part of a global macro group seems like it would work better for your purposes.

2. The variable you were using for client names was actually called "Variable," and you were using "ClientName" as its default value. This would only have produced a variable called "Variable" whose contents were "ClientName." I believe what you wanted to do was create a variable called "ClientName" and have its contents be the actual client name in question.

3. While you can of course use a shell script to make a new folder, you don't have to, as KM has a native "make new folder" action, which makes it considerably easier to make use of KM variables and tokens.

4. You were using a For Each action based on the Finder's current selection, which is both error-prone and unnecessary.