One Hotkey Toggles Two Actions?

Hi forum,

I'm new to Keyboard Maestro. I'd like to toggle between two Desktops with one Hotkey. So if I press Key X for the first time, it should trigger shortcut A (to bring up Desktop 1), if I press Key X for the second time, it should trigger shortcut B (to bring up Desktop 2)... I don't find any "toggle" command, so how would I accomplish that?

Thanks for your help,
s.

You can:

1. branch on whether a variable contains 'true' or 'false', and
  2. toggle the value of that variable to its opposite after completing the action.

Toggle.kmmacros (20.7 KB)

4 Likes

Got it. Thanks a lot!

1 Like

General question.

Are the variables “persistent” ? That is, the variable state will stay in memory so, if I call the macro later, the variable will still be set (at least until I log out)?

The variables are maintained (as named strings) across and between sessions by the Keyboard Maestro engine.

To have a look at its current set of variables (and to edit their values, or delete them, if you like):

Keyboard Maestro > Preferences > Variables

But if the Engine stops (e.g., reboot), then they would be gone, correct?

No – they persist between sessions and after reboots.

( They’re stored as text in plist files, and reloaded when KM next starts )

New Information - I think I can use that. Thanks.

Hello,

I'm also trying to use a Toggle macro to switch between desktops but I haven't been able to get it to work. Were you successful with these variable actions?

Show works where tell fails.

Shall we have a look at what you've got so far ?

This is what I have but nothing happens. I'm not too savvy with coding so please forgive me if I might have some basic errors.

Basically I want to use F15 to toggle desktops which are assigned to F13 (desktop 1) and F14 (Desktop 2)

Thanks

OK. Testing works best with incremental ambition.

• I would first try toggling something simple and direct (alternately playing two different sounds),