Percent Encode URL Not Behaving as Before in V. 9

I've been using Keyboard Maestro to create Things 3 templates successfully without issue for a while now. Unfortunately the changes to v.9 percent encoding seem to have broken my templates.

This is a sample of one of my templates: Book Project Template.kmmacros (26.0 KB)

It looks like Keyboard Maestro is now removing any non-numeric characters (e.g. "/" or ":") when running the percent encode action. Any ideas of how to fix this or is it just a bug?

1 Like

In the image below you can see at the bottom of the image that it takes the : and / characters and encodes them. Is this not what you want? It doesn't remove them, it encodes them.

I'll be honest with you, I've never used this action before, so you can take my advice with a grain of salt or just ignore me.

No, prior to the V.9 update, KBM left non-alphanumeric characters alone. V.9 introduced parsing them as a feature. I'm hoping there's a way to ignore symbols otherwise all my templates are broken.

For now, I've added several additional search and replace variable actions to un-encode the symbols.

You said you don't want it to translate non-alphanumerics. But that's the whole purpose of the action, I thought, to translate non-alphanumerics to URL friendly characters.

If you don't want it to translate ": and "/", what exactly do you want it to translate? I can probably find a solution for you if you tell me what you are trying to do.

Or we can just wait for someone on this website who's better than me at inferring what people want to do. I'm not one of the wizards here, I'm just an average guy.

That's a good temporary fix, I guess. Glad you got it working for you.

The original need was to parse the template and variables from natural language to work with the Things 3 URL scheme.

See Change Variable Syntax to Accommodate the Things 3 URL Scheme