Script to Transfer Data From a List to Numbers

Hey All,

Noob here looking for some help with what seems like a relatively simple script that is beyond my ability. I have a user input prompt collecting Client info which I then use to create unique file structures for projects on my work drive. I would also love to have a running ledger of clients/projects to help keep track of progress and billing.

Ideally, each time I fill out the user prompt (Client, Email, Address, Project,... etc) a new row will get added to my ledger (I am currently using Numbers) and the info would go in to their respective columns.

I have figured out how to create a new variable of each of the above variables as a list and save it to a clipboard. and I have figured out an AppleScript to open the ledger file, turn the KM variables into AppleScript variables and add a new row. BUT I cant find a straight forward way to get the list to map into their respective places in the new row.

I have a feeling the solution is pretty simple but I cant seem to get it right. can anyone help or point me in the right direction? or tell me a better way to do this?

Thanks!!

Hey @gwitcher,

Please provide a data sample – preferably in macro form – and a sample Numbers worksheet for testing.

Dummy data is fine – but it should be as real world as possible.

-Chris

hi @ccstone,

Thanks for the speedy reply! I did some more digging and it seems like my issue was stemming from a permissions issue in OS Monterey where AppleScript was not allowed to write into Numbers. I went through all of the steps in the "security & privacy" section of system preferences but it didn't seem to make a difference.