Submenus and option buttons

Hi,

I am a newbie to the world of macros. I am trying to understand how it works.
So I have a process that requires to invoke a function in a program. On that window there are a number of options, first a drop down menu as well as various parameters that require to be checked or unchecked depending on how we want to process the data. I can call up the initial function through the open menu etc. but I am stuck from that point on.

Can it solely be done by recording mouse movement and location? I’ve tried it that way but I am not getting consistent results.

Checkboxes can generally be triggered with the Press Button action.

Popup menus are tricky to control. To select a popup menu, you need to simulate a click on the menu, and then use typeahead to select the desired item, ie actions:

Click on popup menu
Insert Text by Typing “Menu Name%Return%”

The tricky part is clicking on the menu. First, make sure you have paused long enough to allow the window to come to the front, and then you can need to click on the popup. You can click in one of these ways:

• if the window has keyboard focus, then you can click relative to the window, and if the popup menu is in a fixed location, then that may be a reliable solution.
  • click relative to the found image. If the popup menu always defaults to the same thing, then you can use the popup menu as the image. Otherwise, you need to click relative to something nearby that is consistent (like some label text).