A Little Help With Batch Saving Final Draft 9 Files (.fdr) As .fdx Files (Modern Format)

Okay, I'm finally being dragged kicking and screaming into the 21st Century, and I'm preparing to update my daily Mac to OSX Catalina. This means saying goodbye to 32-bit apps, including the old version (9) of Final Draft I've kept around for opening old screenplays. I've been writing screenplays for many years, so I have 300+ .fdr files which can only be read by FD9.

Fortunately, FD9 has a built-in feature that will resave the FDR file as FDX (the format of current Final Draft 12). All you have to do is open the file, close it and save it.

Since I have so many files to convert, I wanted to use KM to batch convert them from a Finder selection. Each file needs to go through these steps:

• Open the selected FDR file in Final Draft 9
  • Click OK in the alert that explains how to save as FDX
  • Close the FDR document
  • When the Save Button comes up, click it
  • When the second Save button comes up, click it
  • Set the tag of the FDR file to Green. to show me that it's been converted

If tried this a few times, and can't get it to behave. Any help appreciated. Here's my macro WIP:

-- convert FDR to FDX.kmmacros (7.9 KB)

Thanks for your help.

What fails? I glanced over it, and didn't spot any obvious errors. You didn't say what the error was.

In any case, I would open the Debugger window and ensure "Pause New Macros" is checked, and step through the macro one line at a time to see when it misbehaves. Have you tried that?

I tried it with two files selected. KM did these steps:

• opened both files with FD9, bringing up two copies of the dialog that explains that the old file can be auto-saved in the new FDX format.
  • clicked the OK button on the first dialog box
  • opened the first file
  • The macro stopped here.

I have not tried stepping through the macro as you described. I will try it -- thanks.