Advanced Find and Replace

Hi Everyone!

I am new to KM and and have already found it extremelly useful to change some xml code but have come across something that is more advanced and I have no idea how to create an action to sort it!

Is there anyway that KM can find a word in a string and copy that word to another place in the string?

Here is an example:

<hotspot name="xxxxx" style="hs_circle" ath="150.712" atv="13.351" linkedscene="landing2" tag="Landing" />

What I need to do is to automatically take the word landing2 (or whatever word it may be as it will change) and copy to paste it in place of xxxxx

So once done it will look like this:

<hotspot name="landing2" style="hs_circle" ath="150.712" atv="13.351" linkedscene="landing2" tag="Landing" />

So I guess I am asking if there is anyway to find the word before the word tag and copy / paste it into the part that says xxxxx.

Also the ath section will change and be different everytime so a simple find / replace of the whole string will not work!

Hope this makes sense!

Thank you in advance for any help :slight_smile:
Margate

This seems to work on your sample text.

Regex Test Example.kmmacros (3.3 KB)

Keyboard Maestro Export

4 Likes

Thank you for your help, yes it will work but because the string changes every time it will only work with this scenario. So the ath="150.712" can be any number at all so searching for a specific string will not work with anything else. :neutral_face:

The search scheme in the Regular Expression doesn't reference that data. It works regardless of the specific data, looking just at the name and linkedscene tags. Throw a different line in the Text box to confirm.

Here's a link to a regex101.com page showing the example. It includes a description of how the regex works:

https://regex101.com/r/D4z2bg/1

Ah, I see now. I seriously need to up my coding skills! I have tried loads of different combinations and they all work, thank you very much for your help. :slight_smile: