Advice for the Beginners (Like Myself)

Looking through the forum, I have noticed some frustration by beginners. Just let it be known I am an absolute beginner with KM. As of writing this, I have been using KM for less than 3 days.

You (and I) are here because we had a problem to solve. One by which prebuilt solutions are not satisfactory. No?

Often our problem we need to solve is complex and not really suited to learning a whole new paradigm.

So, here is the advice:

Pick something that is stupid easy for you to do. But, you do it a lot. I mean a whole lot, to where if you added up all the time that you do it, it eats up a ton of time.

Solve it. By doing so, it will save you time and that time can now be given to you to solve other (simple for now) problems which will intern save more time. So on and so fourth. All the while, keeping in mind your original reason for being here. If need be, solve parts of that problem as you go by solving smaller but similar issues.

Step by step saving time and giving you time to save more time. Here is the power of the paradigm KM gives us.

I am an industrial designer by training and trade. Not a programmer. Though, I have had to solve other problems in the past which brought me to learn a little bit about Python. Am I good enough to make a living from coding? Hell no! But, with it, I can make my CAD software do things the developers didn't think of or at least hadn't thought it was worth including into their system.

Here is an example of how I am using KM: