Apple Mail - Large Attachments

I'm new to Apple Mail, having used Spark for years until this week.

I just used the Mail Drop feature for the first time and noticed that when I checked for the message in my Sent folder, it started to download the attachment; all 1.8GB of it!

I realise I can turn off attachment downloads, but I'd still like smaller attachments to be accessible.

One thing I've considered is using a folder trigger to delete attachments over a certain size from ~/Library/Containers/com.apple.mail/Data/Library/Mail Downloads.

However, it would be preferable if attachments (e.g. >20MB) didn't download in the first place.

Has anyone else given this some thought?

My only thought is probably exactly the same as the conclusion you have maybe already come to:
Mail Drop makes it simple to send large attachments but as it downloads them automatically (especially on the receiver's computer) it's probably better to send large attachments using a service like WeTransfer or a Dropbox link.

EDIT - Mail Drop works really well if you have just gone slightly over the attachment size limit - in which case it avoids you having to think of a way to send the attachment. So it does certainly have it's uses!

2 Likes

I have a lifetime subscription to Droplr that I was able to pick up years ago at a very reasonable sale price, and I like to use it when providing large files to people, because I can set them to self-destruct after a period of time and forget them.

I used to use Dropbox, but but the free plan leaves a lot to be desired – and I refuse to pay their exorbitant prices for higher tiers.