Apple Mail Message Action

Every week, I receive an email message that contains an attachment and a URL embedded in the body of the message.

I’m wondering if it is possible for KM to trigger when I receive the message in Apple Mail, then save the attachment to a specific folder and save the URL to Pocket.

Too much to ask?

Thanks much.

Hey Alex,

Apple Mail's ability to run an AppleScript via a mail-rule has been notoriously buggy since Mountain Lion.

So. This might be possible but is likely to be a hassle.

I think you're probably better off creating a manually triggered macro.

-Chris

Thanks, Chris!

I don't necessarily need the macro to trigger with the arrival of the message in Apple Mail. I'd be fine to trigger with a keyboard shortcut.

Is there a method in KM for saving a document attachment to a location?

How about for saving a URL to Pocket?

Sorry. I'm a beginner. Just really trying to learn to harness the power of KM.

Thanks, again!

Here's an AppleScript that should do the job:

Just edit the script for your output folder, and put in a Execute an AppleScript action.

Questions?

Hey Alex,

See my Updated Post #4 in this thread:

Save Apple Mail Attachments to a Specific Folder

I've provided a new working macro in addition to the previously posted AppleScript.

Tested only on macOS 10.12.6 so far.

As for saving URLs to Pocket...

• Getting URLs out of Mail is not too big a task, but you need to know what kind of URLs you're dealing with.
    • Is it a plain-text link?
    • Is it an embedded link?

Plain text is simple to deal with. You can extract that easily with an AppleScript like this:

----------------------------------------------------------------

tell application "Mail"
   set selectedMessageList to selection
   if length of selectedMessageList ≠ 1 then error "More than 1 message was selected!"
   set theMessage to item 1 of selectedMessageList

tell theMessage
      set msgContent to its content
      return msgContent
   end tell