Apple to discontinue touch bar

I'm new to Keyboard Maestro and I've never used a touch bar or BTT. I'm ready to buy an M1 laptop. How useful is the touch bar to Keyboard Maestro? I'd think a touch bar, maybe with BTT, would be fabulous w/KM, but I don't see much on the forum about this topic in general. Should I get the MB Air, or MBP before touch bar is discontinued?

That sound like good news to me : -)

I've delayed replacing my laptop because I wanted to keep the Esc key and avoid the touch bar. Not sure it would be vanishing if it had ever been very widely experienced as a great asset.

If it isn't seen as a great asset on this keyboard specific forum, then I'll ignore it. I was pretty good with QuickKeys in a former life, and I'd love to learn and use KM now.

I bought an MBP with touch bar. Shortly, I found out I need to buy BTT to make the touch bar more useful.
I found that Touch bar + BTT + KM is a very good combination, even with my limited usage.

Wow! So, they are capable of working together! That's great. Is there a serious stigma regarding the esc and/or fn keys among super-fast touch-typing techs? Is the use of "pallets" preferred? Or programmable keyboards? I'd think this forum would be passionate over the touch bar, even if users in general don't use it.

Pretty much all of my usage of Touch Bar + BTT + KM is limited to:

1. Create a KM macro
  2. Make a Touch Bar item in BTT, and use execute AppleScript to trigger the KM macro.

The advantage of this is that I don't need to set a keyboard trigger and commit it into memory.

First, let’s be clear that it is only rumored that Apple is doing to discontinue the Touch Bar. This has been rumored before. The newest MacBook Pro still includes it, which is stronger evidence that Apple intends to keep the Touch Bar than any rumor to the contrary.