Audio Waveform Analysis

Hey guys,

I’m an video editor and I am looking for a method to automatically mark audio in my raw footage in order to have the possibility to jump to the spots when dialogue is happening.

My idea is to zoom in the relevant audiotrack and navigate the mouse over the sample plot at a certain Y-position.

Whenever the colour at the current position is not yellow (the colur of the audiotrack when there’s no audio) a marker should be set.

After that event the mouse should move until the colour is yellow again and then start the process over again until the end of the track is reached (still wondering how I am processing this).

I’m quite new to KM and this is definitley overwhelming me. Maybe some of you guys could help.

Thanks in advance.

Best,

Simon

I think this is easily solvable. If you know (or can obtain) the screen coordinates of the waveform window, you could easily write a KM macro that uses the PIXEL function moving from left to right and checking the colour of a pixel near the centerline of the waveform is black or gold. Once it's black, you know there's sound, and you wouldn't consider the sound to be "off" until you had at least ten(?) gold pixels in a row. Then you would move the mouse and click to make a marker when the pixel is gold again.

The last time I used the PIXEL function, it worked well, but it was a little slow. If you want to use the PIXEL function across every pixel in that image, it might take a while. You didn't say how fast you needed this macro to be, so I'm not sure if PIXEL will meet your needs. Tell me how fast you need this to work. I can think of a much faster method, but you would need to install ImageMagick and take statistical measurements of colours, and this is fast, but it's a huge kettle of worms to deal with.

Hey Sleepy,