Barcode Scan Macro

So I work in a warehouse that has a process that I consider time consuming. I'm not the only one that thinks this but I am the only one that wants to do something about it. I would really appreciate the help.

Here is the process that we currently have:

1. Pick tickets print with 2 separate barcodes. One barcode contains the billing address information and the other contains the shipping address. I believe that when you scan a barcode you get 7 digits and our system knows what those 7 digits are for what company. I'm still learning how our system works.
  2. Once we grab the paperwork from the printer, we have to write down the orders, so we have 2 seperate notebooks that are for UPS and Freight orders. We write down the company we are shipping to and the location.

Now it may not seem too bad but it gets really time consuming when we have back orders (which has been happening more often) or when we just have a busier day and have to write pages of pages from the different companies that we have back orders for.

What I'd like to do is use our barcode scanner to scan the barcode on our pick tickets and having an instance of word or something, so we don't have to write down everything. But to add an additional feature is if every time we scan a pick ticket and it ends up being a duplicate or an add on, that the program can notify that it's a duplicate.

Is any of this possible?
Am I asking for too much?

As a side note, I know little to nothing about KM. I've only recently discovered it. So I may need a very detailed walkthrough.

Thank you guys!

What software are you currently using?

Do you want something like a database or a spreadsheet to replace your existing paper notebook?

Have you talked to any other users in similar departments or companies to see what they do?

We are using Prophet 21.

A spreadsheet would work just fine.