Capture Results From ⌘F (Find) In A PDF

I’m new to KM and trying to use it to search a pdf file that holds employee names & phone extensions. I’d like to search the PDFPen file for the employee name and capture the found results. Is there a group of commands or AppleScript (trying to learn some of that too) to capture the results into a variable of a ⌘F keystroke (Find) that can then be parsed to get the extension and speak the extension as text?

Any suggestions would be truly appreciated.

This AppleScript gets the value of field 2 of every row in the found-items table in the Find window.

tell application "System Events"
  tell application process "PDFpenPro"
    set frontmost to true
    tell window "Find"
      set foundList to value of text field 2 of rows of table 1 of scroll area 1 of splitter group 1
    end tell
  end tell
end tell

It’s a kludgy way of going about things, but it works.

-Chris

I’m curious to know a couple of things.

A) Is your PDF file an in-house list or a public one. If public I’d like a copy to test with. I can be reached here: listmeister@thestoneforge.com.

B) Are you always doing lookups in the same file?

C) Which OSX are you running?

There may be a more efficient way of going about this.

-Chris

Thanks Chris!

The PDF file is an in-house list that I always use to look up the four-digit extension of other employees. I’m running OS X Yosemite v10.10.5. I’m new to the company so I’m often pulling out the list from my briefcase to look up the numbers. Since trying KM, I decided to attempt to use my computer to find the extensions and have some fun learning.

foundList only has one item in the format: {ExtensionFirstName_LastNameTitlePhoneNumber}, where _ is a space between First & Last Name.