⚠️ Caution When Running Scripts

@cfriend, I'm not picking on you here. I just want to make a point for all users.

###ATTN: All Users -- Caution When Running Scripts

I strongly advise against running a script, any script, but particularly a shell script, that:

• You didn't write yourself
    OR
  • Did not come from a very trusted source, AND You do not understand

Shell Scripts can do just about anything, anything the user has proper permissions for.

As @cfriend just learned, the results can be catastrophic. Fortunately he has a backup. Most users I know don't have a proper/current backup.

If you have any doubts about any script, post the script here (in a new Topic), and ask for help.
I'm a novice shell scripter myself, but we do have a few very experienced folks here for almost every scripting language.

3 Likes

Thank you for the warning and the tip the scripts before the installation here to post :+1:

Glad I could be of service :wink: I won’t be making that mistake again.

RE: backups, with the exception of fiddling with system preferences, I am back up and running in under ten minutes thanks to good backups. I use Arq to back up to a micro SD, Amazon Drive, Dropbox, and a NAS in the closet. This is overkill, but I encourage anyone without multiple backups of your important files to look into it immediately.

1 Like

No, that is not too much @cfriend :wink: Have 3 external hard disks in use. 2 x Time Machine and 1 x ChronoSync. With ChronoSync I synchronize my iMac and my MacBook, if times one fails I always have a current Mac at hand

1 Like

There’s no such thing as too many backups.

1 Like

Once in a while I also do such things. And it always happens when testing/debugging my own scripts, not scripts from others :grinning:. Last time I managed to erase two-thirds of my /Applications folder before I noticed that something was going wrong.

Best thing to have in case of such misadventures is an exact (and recent) clone of the volume.