Clear out words, multiplikation, addition

Hi,

Disclaimer: I am not a programmer. I am not particularly good at making Macros in KM.

Right now I am using a "for each function" to copy numbers from clipboard and add them together. I got help putting together the macro from this forum. Now I need to "upgrade" the macro. this feels a bit complicated tbh. Is there a way to clear out "text" and then multiply and add from a "matrix".

I am helping a friend who is getting his data from a program where the output to the clipboard looks like this when pasted into "notes":

1 Week 0.5
12 Weeks 1
3 Weeks 1

Maybe it's not doable, but what I want is to add it together like this:

1 x 0.5
12 x 1
3 x 1

=

i.e.: remove the text, and then multiply each "line", and then add the lines together. Any suggestions...?

If it's always multiplication of the numbers in the line, and addition of the lines, then you could do something like this:

clip Calc.kmmacros (2.8 KB)

but I think there may already be some more general clipboard arithmetic macros on this forum.

Expand disclosure triangle to view JS source
return kmvar.local_SampleClip
.split(/\r\n|\n|\r/u)
.flatMap(x => {
    const s = x.trim();

return 0 < s.length
        ? (() => {
            const multiplicandStrings = s.split(/\s*[x | \\*]\s*/u);

return multiplicandStrings.some(isNaN)
                ? []
                : multiplicandStrings.reduce(
                    (a, v) => a * Number(v),
                );
        })()
        : [];
})
.reduce(
    (a, x) => a + x,
)

Assuming the input string is always in the form of <n> Weeks <n>

The following bash script will work

total=0
while IFS= read -r line; do
    line_tot=`echo "$line" | awk '{print $1 * $NF}'`
    total=`echo "$line_tot + $total" | bc`
done <<< "$KMVAR_weeks"
echo $total

Keyboard Maestro Actions.kmactions (1.2 KB)