Copy to named clipboard not working

I’m using Version 8.0.5. (Sorry if this isn’t the right place to report bugs, lmk and I can post elsewhere).

The copy to named clipboard feature just doesn’t seem to be working for me. I’m new to the app (and also not yet paying, but definitely plan on getting a license because this is awesome).

Problems:

• If I set the clipboard to trigger clipboard, then exit and come back in, it just resets to Unnamed named clipboard (which just seems to be the system clipboard)
  • If I tap New... in the drop down for clipboards, nothing happens (no popup or anything)

Currently, I’m just using copy for everything, but this clutters the clipboard.

Is this a known bug? Or am I doing something wrong? Thanks for any help!

Hi @plivesey,

Welcome to Keyboard Maestro! It’s perfectly fine to report bugs here, but I’m not yet sure that what you’re reporting is a bug. Can you share your full macro (instructions on how to do so can be found here) and tell us exactly what it is you’re trying to accomplish?

Thanks @gglick . I'm trying to copy some text, but not add it to the system clipboard. Often what I actually want is just to assign the selected text to a variable, but it seems the way to do this is used a named clipboard. The feature just doesn't work at all though for me (I don't think).

In the screenshot here, when I tap Unnamed Named Clipboard, it brings up a drop down. When I tap on New..., nothing happens. I'd expect to be able to create a new named clipboard.

Keyboard Maestro 8.0.5 “Use a Named Clipboard” Action

Use a Named Clipboard.kmactions (521 B)

Hmm. I see what you mean about selecting "New…" in the named clipboard dropdown; selecting that doesn't do anything for me either except set the dropdown to the existing topmost named clipboard, so this may well be a bug.