Copying a pdf into Work

Hi Lovely Boffins!

I’m a final year dental student as such I have 128 lectures (mainly in pdf format - using preview) that I’m importing into Word (2011). I’m trying to create a macro that will copy the text from the pdf in Preview and paste it into the word doc without having to simply copy paste over and over again.

Can any of you think of a repeatable way of copying the text of page 1 on the pdf and having it pasted directly into word without any of the formatting then repeat for page 2, 3, 4, etc.?

I thought about using the Quick Macro to record the action of my copying the text from preview, pasting it into word, removing the formatting, returning to preview, then scrolling down a page and repeating but I thought there must be a better way?

Any pointer in the right direction would be much appreciated!
Thanks in advance!

Welcome to Keyboard Maestro! I hope you're doing well in dental school!

While it is probably possible to build a KM macro to do what you ask, I have to first ask, why do you want to put the PDF text into Word???

I can tell you from experience, that the process is far from perfect, and it is unlikely that the document format will be properly retained in Word.

If you want to annotate and add notes, then you might consider Evernote.
It is a great tool, and can display the PDF inline in a EN Note. I do this often, and it works very well. If you have made any annotations to the PDF, those show as well.

OK, back to your request.

First, there are a number of ways to directly export a PDF to a Word document:

• Adobe Acrobat
  • Many 3rd party PDF tools
  • Do a search on "convert pdf to word document" to see lots of options.

After you've given this some thought, if you still want to copy/paste from PDF to Word, then come back here and let us know. We'll help you build the KM macro.

Hi!

Thanks for the welcome to the forum! Dental school is going well so far - this is my final year of study to lots to do!