Copying text to custom clipboard

I am new to this program but am already finding it extremely useful and powerful, however one feature keeps escaping me. The custom clipboards seem to be very useful, but I am either using them incorrectly, or there is a bug in storing and retrieving contents.

My desired workflow is something like this:

1.) Two individual text boxes, each with a number.
2.) Copy the contents of each and store it as a separate variable for use later.
3.) When looping back, recall the contents of each and add a certain number to that value (ex. 5 + 7).

I had been trying to accomplish this by doing a Copy to Named Clipboard action followed by a Set Variable to Clipboard action. I created two new custom clipboards for this purpose and wanted to store the values in each clipboard, then name a variable for their contents to be used in a given cycle. But for whatever reason, in this workflow I am finding the contents of that text box are not being saved into the custom clipboard as evident by trying to recall the variable that I declared for their contents. I’m just not understanding why this feature isn’t working. The concept is not complicated, yet the result I’m observing doesn’t make sense.

I hope the above makes enough sense, but if not please let me know so I can clarify.

Variable and clipboards are completely independent of one another. Both are stored in the KM environment.

As best as I can tell, you don't need named clipboards.
Just copy each text box into a separate variable.

Yes, and that’s what I thought, too. But when I tried to test this by doing the following…

1.) Copy contents of TextBox1 into clipboard.
2.) Name Variable ‘Var1’ from clipboard.
3.) Copy contents of TextBox2 into clipboard.
4.) Name Variable ‘Var2’ from clipboard.

…when I would test the results to see if it was working, Var2’s contents were overwriting Var1’s contents.

If you had two fields and tabbed from one to the next, you can do something like this: