Create a folder with subfolders

Hello, I'm a complete Keyboard Maestro noob.

How can I create a folder with custom named subfolders? Also, is it possible to have a prompt which asks me what name I want to choose for the main folder? Thanks in advance!

Hi!
Here's one way to go about doing this:

Create folders with subfolders- from prompt.kmmacros (20 KB)
(v11.0.2)

2 Likes

Hi! Thanks for this, but I think I explained incorrectly what I want.

Here is basically what I want:

A couple of other things:

1. How can I add a subfolder to Folder 1, 2, 3 or 4 if I want to in the future?
  2. Can I change the location the folder is created to: /Users/username/Movies/YouTube
  3. I just want to be able to rename the name of the MAIN FOLDER each time I execute the macro, all other folders should have the same name.
    Folder 1: A Roll
    Folder 2: B Roll
    Folder 3: Music
    Folder 4: Assets

I tried to do all of this manually with the macro you created, but I got really confused haha.

Thank you very much!
Roman,

1 Like

@Alexander's example Macro contains all the elements you need but to help you understand what is going on here is simpler Macro that does what you ask above.

EXAMPLE Create Main Folder and Sub Folders.kmmacros (5.1 KB)

In the first two Magenta Actions you set the path to where you want to generate the folders and a list of the names of the folders you want (the list can be of any length).

The next Action Prompts you to enter a name for your "MAIN FOLDER"

The next Action is a For Each Action that is a loop - it does something for each of the lines in your list of Folders (in this case 4 folder names, so it will loop 4 times).