Delete text after pattern (with RegEx)

I'm still learning RegEx as I use it with some macros, but I ended up with this expression to delete everything after a certain word or group of words
feat.*$
So this:
"Bad Dreams feat. Emma Dean" (ignore the quotes)
Becomes this:
"Bad Dreams " (with the extra space at the end)

Also, if I want to delete a space from the beginning, I used
\sfeat.*$
"Bad Dreams feat. Emma Dean"
Becomes this:
"Bad Dreams" (WITHOUT the extra space at the end)

And after some testing, I was able to find how to do the opposite, where I replace the text before a certain word or group of words:
.*(?=feat)
or this
.*(?=\sfeat)

I tested and both options work. I'm just wondering if this is the right way to do it, if there's any chance that it will create any issues in other scenarios, etc?

Thanks

It seems good to me, but I have two concerns:

• you said you wanted to delete text "after" a string, but it seems that you are actually deleting a word "starting from" a string. Same concern with "before a string" really doing "up to and including" a string.
  • I would usually say "\s+" instead of "\s" to get multiple spaces.

Jumping in to suggest regex101.com as a great resource that you can use to create and test regular expressions.

I hope that helps!

1 Like

I see nothing wrong with your method, but here's another option using capture groups that will allow you to use (or ignore) any part of the string without explicitly deleting anything.

Search using Regular Expression.kmactions (685 B)

Keyboard Maestro Export

(this also captures "ft." and "featuring")

2 Likes

I think that should be feat\. and ft\. in your regex, to ensure you match the literal period character and not any other single character.

3 Likes

Yes, it was a "typo". I wanted to say "after" as in "start with that word, and then everything after that (or before). The expressions I shared did the trick.