Download a report from a webpage when report status is available

Hello,

I'm just starting out on Keyboard Maestro :slight_smile:

Using Chrome and after clicking the "Request report" button to launch the creation of the report, I need to (1) check if the report is available or in pending state (can take several minutes before being available) :

(2) download the report if the download button is available (only the last report, not the older).

According to you, what would be the best way to do this ?

Thanks for your help !

Hello, welcome to the forum.

One of the experts here might be able to suggest a way using JSON or JXA. :exploding_head: Then you would have to work out the rest of your macro around that.

I don't think this is a project for a beginner in KM (or even an intermediate user) but perhaps someone can at least point you towards a previous discussion about this sort of task. Perhaps it's easier than I think. :wink:

Hello Kevin,

Thanks for your answer.
I was thinking of comparing the value of the "processing" or "Download report" button attribute and setting a condition, but that doesn't seem to be the best solution (I was also thinking of using OCR).

I'll wait for an expert opinion :slight_smile:

1 Like

If you view the source, you could use JXA to get the value if you can specifically identify that button out of all the buttons. Sometimes I can muddle through that myself, but I usually rely on ChatGPT to help me out, or ask an expert here :).

Using Found Image, though, I think it would be relatively straightforward. Use a Pause Until Conditions are Met action, with the condition set to "The screen" "contains" "image", and the image set to this:

Without your added red highlight, of course :). And you'll want to capture it on the actual page, not from a screenshot of the page. Just use Shift-Cmd-Ctrl-4 to capture a region to the clipboard, then paste into KM.