Drag and drop from pre-defined position to current mouse location

Hello everyone.
I did a lot of research before asking for help. I've found a few answers but I can't seem to put it all together...
I'm a professional editor and in order to speed up my workflow here's what I'd like to create...
In a few words, I want Keyboard Maestro to save my current mouse position, go to a pre-defined position, then click, hold, drag and release to the previously saved position.

What I've tried...

1. Save my current mouse position.
  • I used "set variable to text" and added "%CurrentMouse%" (the variable is "Dest").
  • mouse click at (pre-difined position)
  • and drag to Dest[1] Dest[2]

But all this didn't really work...
If anyone could tell me what's wrong, I'd really appreciate it!
Here's a picture of my attempt:

This works for me:

Many thanks!
I figured out why it wasn't working. The macro was in a group that made it functional only in a specific application. I put it in a group that gave it the right to work in all applications and Boom! It works!

Thanks again!
Martin

1 Like

In your macro, you're setting the mouse position to where it already is. You can skip that, as per my version.

Thank you. Could you be more specific? Which part do you suggest I skip? This is basically what the macro I created does...

Your second step (use the variable « dest » to set the mouse location ) is not needed. In your example the mouse is already there.

As a side note. In premiere or avid to do a transition I just place the playhead where I want the transition to start/end and press the attributed keyboard shortcut for

• Apply default video transition to Playhead (or from playhead)

I can easily change the duration by moving my playhead and pressing the shortcut again.
To change the start or end point of the transition, just use the extend function

2 Likes