Easy question for someone who knows Regex!

Hi!

I am relatively new to Regex and have been too stubborn to ask for help until having spent the last 3 hours trying to get this working :frowning:

I'm trying to use the "for each" command to capture substrings of a variable (paragraphs) with the following regular expression:

(\t\t)(.|\s)*?(?=\n\t\t)

It seems to be working as expected using the Regexr tool, and splits the content into the 4 matches I want:

http://regexr.com/3d13u

But when I use it in KM, the KM engine crashes. I guess there is some kind of infinite loop or something I am causing that isn't triggering an error on this Regexr tool?

Thanks in advance for any tips to get this working, I can provide more info, I did best to keep this post brief!

Would it help if I uploaded the KM macro file?

Cheers,
Joel

No, it doesn’t crash here. Try to paste a sample text directly into the text field of the variable declaration, to see if it still crashes.

I get substrings like these:

I guess this is correct.

To avoid matching the tab sequence in the first line (of your sample text) you could do
(?m)^(\t\t)(.|\s)*?(?=\n\t\t)

And you can make the dot match newlines with (?s)
So: (?sm)^(\t\t)(.)*?(?=\n\t\t)

1 Like

Thanks for your help, Tom. Strange, for me it is crash city. KM Engine icon in the menu bar freezes immediately and can see KM going nuts the Activity Monitor. Tried rebooting, no difference. Any idea if there is some kind of cache I can reset or something to try to eliminate crashing?

Thanks again!!

Did you try it with a literal sample text in the field (instead of %pp_entire_lesson%)?

This way you can see if the problem comes from the %pp_entire_lesson% variable content.

1 Like

I had tried that and still had the same problem. But right now I tried copying the exact same text I had pasted in that Regexr tool back into KM and no crashing!