Feature Request: "GET" Button to Capture Window Position & Size in Actions

I'm new to KM, but it seems to be exceptionally powerful. I could me missing how to do this easier, but so far I can't easily seem to do what I want:

What I want to do is capture the window size/positions for various applications, so I can run the macro and the defined windows snap into their captured positions. However, the "move a window" and "manipulate a window" only allow configuration by inputting x and y coordinates.

Feature request: What would be exceptionally helpful is a "get" button in the "resize a window" and "manipulate a window" action pane that would grab the existing size/location of the specified application and display those coordinates/size.

As it stands now, it would be exceptionally time consuming to try and figure out all the custom coordinates of a number of windows, when I'm running a dual 4K monitor setup. That process is so tedious, that I just can't do it.

I did find a macro that displays the window coordinates and sizes, instead of blindly trying to input numbers. However, I still stand behind my feature request to add a "get" button to streamline the window size/position capturing process.

1 Like

Hey Derek,

Do a search on the forum for:

• Move Window
  • Resize Window

There's a ton of window related stuff on the forum.

See the Manipulate a Window action on the Wiki.

See the window text-tokens (in the Keyboard Maestro Editor's Edit Menu ⇢ Insert Token by Name).

The manipulate a window actions will take variables – not just numerical coordinates.

-Chris

You'll probably like the next version then.

3 Likes