Get Image Ratio Macro (v10.2)

Get Image Ratio Macro (v10.2)

I'm new to KM and this is my first ever upload, so it's pretty simple. I'm sure there are more efficient ways but better to get something working and tidy it up later, right?

For the image currently selected in Finder, it will give you the image ratio in a "Display Text Briefly" window.

Get Image Ratio.kmmacros (21 KB)

2 Likes

Super neat marco, I deal with image files all the time & will find this helpful!

Minor suggestion, to add in an "if then" condition for only image format

thanks for sharing

That's a great idea. Thank you for the feedback!

Another minor tweak -- reverse your logic. As it stands you have to do 9 tests for every image because you need "all of the following" to be true. If you change to "any of the following", make the tests all "is" (rather than "is not"), and switch round your "execute" and "otherwise" blocks then the "If..." condition will short-circuit on the first "true" test and KM won't have to do the others.

Extra points if you put your most commonly found ratios nearer the top of the conditions list, as that will be even more efficient!

I think you've got a ratio missing as you've no corollary to "1.6" but you have two "0.5625"s -- should one of those be "0.625"? Which throws up another possible optimisation -- if you don't care about the aspect of the image you could precede the "If..." action with another:

if pixratio < 1 then set pixratio to 1/pixratio

...and then you can cut the number of comparisons by half. (If you do care about the aspect you could use another variable and set nonaspectRatio to 1/pixratio or similar, then test nonaspectRatio.)

1 Like

To reduce the size of that IF action you could just use this instead:

1 Like

Except that would match eg 1.55. You could (I think) get round that with ^1.5$|^0.66666$|^1$... but that's messy and possibly a maintenance burden. Perhaps there's a cleaner regex?

1 Like