Help with shell script on selected finder images

Hi guys! I'm an automation noob and dipping my toes into it, have already automated some part of my workflow with KM/Hazel, but I'm struggling to make such a macro in KM:
For example, I'm selecting 4 images in a folder, and I want to run an ImageMagick "montage" shell script on them (it combines 4 images in a grid). Here's where my macro is at at the moment:

KM Macro image

CleanShot 2024-05-23 at 22.18.00

The variables fill with the needed info, I guess the part that's failing is the Execute Shell Script. I tried adding ENV_PATH info to my KM variables, it didn't help. If I run the same commands through Terminal it works.

PLEASE HALP! :smile:

If I can provide any more info on this, let me know

Putting aside ENV_PATH variables for the moment, the first thing that jumps to the eye is that you haven't specified the full path, on your system, to the montage executable.

The incantation

which montage

at the Terminal.app prompt, will tell you what that full path is.

1 Like

Hello there!

The which command gave me a certain path I tried to add, but alas, both options do not work (still nothing happens when I run the macro):

2 options

CleanShot 2024-05-23 at 23.19.16
CleanShot 2024-05-23 at 23.20.48

You can't use KM variables directly in shell scripts.%Images% needs to be $KMVAR_Images. And of the two versions of the command with path you tried, neither one looks correct to me. I think it should just be this:

/opt/homebrew/bin/montage 1024x1024 "$KMVAR_Images" montage.jpg

The quotes are important, too. Also, earlier on, with the cd %FolderPath%, you need to do the same thing:

cd "$KMVAR_FolderPath"

For more on this, see the wiki on variables in shell scripts:

https://wiki.keyboardmaestro.com/action/Execute_a_Shell_Script

-rob.

2 Likes

In addition, neither of your invocations of montage look right.

Assuming that the path to it is indeed:

/opt/homebrew/bin/montage