How Can a Carriage Return Be Removed From a KM Clipboard?

I need to remove a carriage return from the info inside a KM clipboard. I’ve tried the “find and replace” but that won’t help. There is something called “expressions” I could try, but I’m a beginner and can’t understand anything at that level. What can be done?
Thanks.

Welcome to the forum.

This will delete one carriage return from the clipboard and concatenate lines one and two (if there is a line 2).

Remove Carriage Return in Clipboard Macro (v9.2)

Remove Carriage Return in Clipboard.kmmacros (1.7 KB)

Thanks rcraighead!

I'm trying to wrap my brain around the expression use. And I’m close. But I read that one should show more, talk less about inquiries. So I will show you more precisely what I’m trying to accomplish, and perhaps that will simplify the script you created for my dilemma.

I use Terminal to copy a single file name out of a folder full of sequenced image files.

"test_inserts.000.dpx
"
(the zeros can range from .0. to .0000000.)

Unfortunately, Terminal adds a carriage return to the clipboard. I then copy the system clipboard to a named clipboard “sequence filename”. Then I remove the zeros and .dpx resulting in a clean filename.

"test_inserts
"
So, just 1 line of text with a carriage return at the end.

I don’t understand if you “line 1” and “line 2” represent the ever changing filenames I encounter. Does your script still apply? Do I have to customize it to my needs?

Thanks again, and sorry for my newbie ignorance.

I want to add screen grabs but I’m not clear on how to do that yet.

Filter text with the trim whitespace option might work.

2 Likes

No problem. I'm always learning something new with KM.

The "Set System Clipboard…" Action is just for test purposes. Yes, it is to represent anything you might have on your clipboard. I added a "Line 2" because I didn't know if the carriage return would be the last item in the clipboard.