How can I set the Frame Attributes in Finale?

Hello.

I'm a musician trying to construct 5 headers for a piece of sheet music. I could do it manually, but I have to put the same headers on over 100 music sheets. So I'd like to create a macro to do it for me.

I constructed many Macros for this same program many years ago, but I'm stumped on how to do this.
I've already spent many hours experimenting ... I can get it started but can't get it beyond 2 or three steps.

I'm willing to pay for someone's time. We can do this over the phone and it shouldn't take too long because once we get a header working for one of the elements, I can just repeat it (changing a few thing) for the other 4.

If you can help. please call me at ***

Thanks!

Don

If you're willing to post what you've done so far, or at least provide full details on the task you're trying to accomplish (which apps are involved, what exactly needs to happen in those apps), then I think we'd be able to help you out and you wouldn't have to pay anyone.

-rob.

2 Likes

That's how we all learned. :grin:

Hi Rob,

Thank you for the quick reply and the suggestion.
I work on a Mac, so if you're not familiar with the labels, write what you know and I'll figure it out.

The music program is called "Finale."

I've already set up the trigger to start the macro. What should happen then is this:

1. Click anywhere on the page.

2. From the Tools menu select Text

3. Type Othello Symphony (or whatever) into that text box

4. Press command-A to highlight the text in the newly created Text Box.

5. Go to the Text menu, scroll down to Size and in the sub-menu that appears click on Other

6. In the box that appears in Other type 20 (or whatever size)

7. Click anywhere outside the Text Box and a little box appears at the upper left of the Text Box.

8. Click in that box holding down the Control key

9. Slide the cursor down to Edit Frame Attributes

10. Next to Horizontal there's a scroll, select Left