How to Quit Finder When a Certain Folder Is Detected Open

I want the computer to automatically and immediately quit the Finder when "/Users/**/Library" is detected open.

However, only when the folder adds or removes an item will Finder quit. Can you tell me how to set up the trigger?

Or, how to write a script to achieve this goal and keep this script on to monitor it, with or without Keyboard Maestro?

File > Get Info > Sharing & Permissions is not what I want, because as an admin I can still change it; plus, apps may need to write files into this folder.

Here's a mockup that you can tinker with to get what you want. I prioritized reducing the trigger frequency (trigger surface?), which is why it's in its own Macro Group.

For convenience I left a few redundancies and logs, which you can pare down in the final product.

Library Blocker.kmmacros (7.9 KB)

Why? The answer to that will determine the best route to take. For example, @avtraino's method above will work in some cases but is trivially easy to circumvent...

2 Likes

I don't understand your complex setting at all, so I can't tinker with it. But your solution gives me an idea which clumsily solves my problem. Out of curiosity, I wonder if there is a more elegant and effective way.

My goal:
I don't want some folders under the folder Library to be accessed in Finder.

My current method:

I copied these actions adding the folders' names one by one.

The imperfection of this method is that, for example, I can directly go to /Users/li/Library/Focus/Data. It fails to block Focus because the window title is Data, so it will not quit finder.

Can the computer detects the path (instead of the window title)? Then, if the path contains Library, it quits finder, so we cannot open any folders under Library.

PS: My mac username is li. If you make a mockup, can you use li in the path because I don't even know where to replace the username :joy: