How to script PDFPenPro to OCR Selected Finder Items?

Currently, I use Hazel and an AppleScript from Katie Floyd to OCR documents in PDFPenPro. My goal is to do this in KM instead.

I want to set up a macro that invokes a similar script for each selected finder file.

I believe I need to create a macro that uses “For Each Path in Finder Selection” and then execute the AppleScript.

I cannot figure out how to modify the script to work in this context. Katie’s script is below. I assume I need to replace “theFile” with a KM variable?

tell application "PDFpenPro"
   open theFile as alias
   tell document 1
      ocr
      repeat while performing ocr
         delay 1
      end repeat
      delay 1
      close with saving
   end tell
      quit
   end tell
end tell

(Pardon this noob question. I am totally new to AppleScript, let alone invoking it from KM. I have tried searching around, but have been unable to figure out how do do this.)

OK I think I answered my own question after a lot of web searches and experimentation.

I had to add a command to Keyboard Maestro Engine to set up the variable needed, and I had to change the script line that opens the file as a POSIX file.

Here is the final script:

-- Modified version of Katie Floyd's script to work with Keyboard Maestro
-- Found at https://katiefloyd.com/blog/automatically-ocr-documents-with-hazel-and-pdfpen
tell application "Keyboard Maestro Engine"
   set theFile to value of variable "Path"
end tell
   open theFile as POSIX file
   tell document 1
      ocr
         delay 1
      end repeat
      delay 1
      close with saving
   end tell
      quit
   end tell
end tell

Hey Chris,

Here’s how I’d do that myself.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
# Auth: Christopher Stone
# dCre: 2016/11/19 19:50
# dMod: 2016/11/19 21:05
# Appl: PDFpenPro & Finder
# Task: OCR Selected PDF files in the Finder.
# Libs: None
# Osax: None