Increase variable with +1

I want to make a simple macro in Logic Pro to bounce/render several files. I have most of it down, but I want KM to increase the number/variable at the end of the filename with 1 each time. How do I do this?

It would help a lot if you could upload the macro in question, but in general, this is how to increase a number variable by 1:

@gglick
Ok, so yeah, as you assume, this is my first time trying to do a TM macro.
I am trying to name the new folder after cmd+shift+N to 2,3,4 etc

then ideally after that, there is a text input where I would like to have the text that is there already (and ends with a variable (Bumpers 1) to increase the number to (Bumpers 2)

Please upload your macro so we can see the details and test.
See How to post/upload your script/macro.

Firstly, if this is your first macro, you should probably start simply and get a handle on some nice simple macros. Make sure you are comfortable with basic macros that you can make work.

But let’s take a step back, and figure out what you are actually trying to do.

Do you want to make just one folder, or a set of folders? When do you want to make them? Where do you want to make them?

Step back and think about exactly what sequence you want to happen and then we can look at crafting a macro to do it. For example:

• I want to open a folder in the Finder
  • I want to press the key pad =
  • I want Keyboard Maestro to ask me the base name and count
  • Then I want Keyboard Maestro to create a set of count folders, named "basename 1", "basename 2", … "basename count".

Keyboard Maestro could do all of that, but first you need clarity on what it is you want to do.

1 Like

@peternlewis: Thanks for taking your time. Let me get back to you and try to be a bit more clear.
Thanks!!

@peternlewis @JMichaelTX

Ok, just to be clear, this is for automating a work flow in Logic Pro X.