Input text from list plus freeform text

Hi there

I am new to KM, so please excuse me if the question is too simple. I searched the forum for an a anwser but could not find anything I could use.

I want to create a KM action dialogue that would display a list of possible commands from which to choose, such as the Prompt with List action, or the beatiful Spotlight Search macro library, but then also allow for freeform text following the command name.

I.e. a dialogue that shows a list
Macro Type 1

• Macro 1
  • Macro 2
    Type 2
  • Macro 2.1
  • M 2.2
    and the input field and then the user can select a macro by typing as in the Prompt with List action but once only a single macro is left the user can continue typing the macro parameter string.

As return value I would like the selected macro name and the rest, or the selected macro and the entire user input so that I can filter the string into macro and parameter myself.

It seems like something that has been done before and I know I can probably do it using Custom HTML prompt, but I don’t know javascript (only applescript and python), so I don’t know how to use that for what I want to do.

Many thanks and best wishes,
Stephan

Hi Stephan,

Not to worry. There’s no such thing as a too-simple question around here, and I don’t think yours falls into that category anyway :slightly_smiling_face: