It It Possible To Consolidate Various Utility's Action Bars Using Keyboard Maestro?

HI, I'm new with Keyboard Maestro. I have Alfred, Raycast, Dash and also use Spotify on my Mac. I just want to use one call to execute whichever I need at the moment. Is it possible? Like just one shortcut, and suddenly I can start typing what I need, and Keyboard Maestro will know which of the four action bars I need, so it executes the command for me? Or I'm way out of line here and that's not something that Maestro can do. Any ideas or tips will be great!

Hey Albert,

Welcome to the forum!  :sunglasses:

In a word – nyet – or at least probably not...

Unless all the desired utilities are scriptable or have sufficiently usable url-scheme, there's no way for Keyboard Maestro to talk to them behind the scenes.

Could you build a kludgy macro that would brute-force the UI to do what you want?

Very possibly – but it would be pretty kludgey.

Are there ways to use Keyboard Maestro to improve your user experience with the other utilities?

Perhaps.

You'll need to get more familiar with Keyboard Maestro's capabilities first.

-Chris

2 Likes

Understood perfectly.

Before reading your post I found a video on YouTube very promising or perhaps more close to the idea I’m looking for. This guy use Keyboard maestro like a Spotify to trigger commands. I think I can use that for my needs.

For example:

I need to search images on Pixabay on Raycast.
Instead of launching Raycast, I can make a macro to trigger Raycast and execute the search by typing in the words to search the images, and I will be having Raycast open with images in front of me!

You see, the thing is that I don’t want to launch these apps individually because I want to use those shortcuts keys for other things. If I can just have Keyboard Maestro to work as my Spotlight for trigger the other apps it will be great!

1 Like