Load image from URL

Given the URL of an image file, is it possible to load that image and paste it into a Numbers cell?

Thanks

I don't see why not. The main problem I see is that web browsers return web pages, not images in the clipboard, which means waiting for the page to load, then finding and copying the image into a clipboard is the step that needs to be considered. Once it's in the clipboard, you would just paste it into Numbers using the KM paste action, I suppose. Is your cursor in Numbers going to be in the right location when you start the macro? In the simplest case, this task could be performed with four simple KM actions. 1. Get URL. 2. Copy image from browser into clipboard. 3. Activate Numbers. 4. Paste clipboard into Numbers.

All these steps are trivial, except perhaps for taking #2. There are different ways to perform #2. I would imagine that doing it with AppleScript is the most reliable. I'm not very good with AppleScript so I'll let someone else chime in first.

It may possibly depend upon the website you are using. Some website return web pages in stages, and if they do that, we may need some code to wait for the web page to fully load.

Thanks for the answer.

I have everything working except the first bit. I'm able to grab the other information I need from the page containing the image then pass all that on to an AppleScript that opens my document, adds a new row to the end of a table and sets the cell values appropriately. If I have manually copied the image into the clipboard, it will also paste the image correctly (still in AppleScript).

In other words, the page is already loaded so that's not a problem. I'm struggling with the "find image" step. The pages I'm working with have a photo that may vary in size and position and is different for each instance of the page.

I think there's a way I can use AS to download the image then read it into the clipboard but I was hoping to avoid messing with the file system.