Looking for a Way to Select a Web Element by Its Xpath and Save the Text Within It to a Variable

Howdy,

Looking for a way to extract text from web elements based on xpath. I’d like to do this by providing the macro an xpath, and any text within the element will be saved to a variable.

This is for work, so I can’t provide a specific use case. Also the web page is behind a password, so some of the solutions I’ve found by searching these forums haven’t worked thus yet. Does anyone have any ideas on how this might be accomplished?

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Hello and thanks! That's very helpful. I'm a total noob though - could you perhaps explain how I get that to work? Which text do i replace? How do i fit it into a km macro?

Thanks again!

For instance, if i get the xpath of my last post, it's:
/html/body/section/div/div[2]/div[2]/div[4]/div[3]/section/div[1]/div[2]/div/div[3]/article/div/div[2]/div[2]/div/p[1]

Where do I put that in your screenshot? Also, how does that script know what web page to look at? Seems like the xpath doesn't have any sort of URL or anything.

Sorry for the newbie questions! Thanks for any answers you can provide!

Ok, I took a stab at this, using the xpath from my first reply. I've assigned the script to write to a var. However, when I run the code, nothing happens. Any idea what I've done wrong?

Make sure that you go to View > Developer > Allow Javascript from Apple Events is enabled.

I recommend using the JavaScript function querySelector rather an Xpath.

If you can provide the URL or the HTML code that contains the text you want, we can make a better suggestion.

For example, given the HTML code of this forum web page:

<div class="regular contents">
  <div class="cooked">
    <p>
      Howdy,
    </p>
    <p>
      Looking for a way to extract text from web elements based on xpath. I’d like to do this by providing the macro an xpath, and any text within the element will be saved to a variable.
    </p>
    <p>