Looking for an elegant way to copy the first line of a text to the clipboard, without moving the cursor

This is part of a larger macro which copies a text (a Bear Note) and saves as RTFD with the first line as a title.

The macro works fine but it slows my workflow because it moves the cursor to highlight/copy the first line and takes time to find and come back to where I was working in the text before the save.

thanks in advance for your time and help

Doesn't Bear's "Export Notes..." already do this? I've just tried, and the suggested file name is the first paragraph of the selected note. Obviously, if you use long titles/first paras in your Notes you'll want to trim that down somehow.

1 Like

thank you for your post.

I have been using Bear for many years and have written quite a few Keyboard Maestro macros specifically for Bear.

I often write the draft of document in Bear because of all the advantages of Markdown.

I wrote a KM macro which automates the menu export including adding date time stamp to file, specify directory etc.

When I work, I make a habit of exporting regularly

Recently, I was working on a long and complex document, and suddenly everything disappeared, a know sync problem. I learned that I have to backup (export) the note I am working on more frequently, and then grew tired of the time the export process takes even with automation because of the time it takes to save to directory, give a name etc.

I wanted to create a single current note backup process which was
1- very fast
2- transparent (in the background)

The result if the following macro. It is extremely fast and transparent (works in the background) which much improved my workflow speed. It's night and day compared to note export in the menu.

The only residual problem as explained above is to extract the title without moving the cursor which causes me to lose track of where I was in the text at the time of backup

Backup SINGLE - for forum export wip$ copy.kmmacros (33.6 KB)