For some reason that I don't understand, I occasionally/accidentally start multiple copies of KM at the same time. If I edit a macro in one window, and close it, the changes I make are saved. But then when I close the other window, it overwrites those changes with the earlier version of my macro and I've lost my edits. Today I lost 5 hours of work this way. (I wrote a macro that sets up a chess board and loads/saves the pieces from/to a file using FEN notation.)
Is there some way of preventing two copies of KM from running at the same time? Or is there some other way to prevent overwriting macros that are newer? Or is there some way to recover the overwritten macro?
I'm not particularly upset as I love to program in KM and am always rewriting my code anyway.
I did find a 2018 forum post about this, but the cause seemed to relate to syncing, which I don't do.
Thanks, that's helpful. So I'm guessing that in my case the second copy was located in my Downloads folder, and I'm also guessing that the application bar at the bottom of the screen, which now stores "most recently used programs" may have included a link to Keyboard Maestro.app in that section. That's possibly how I got two concurrent copies running.