Mac Mail: Archive Message vs Trash using DELETE key Macro

Hello all. I'm new to Keyboard Maestro. The change to Mac OS Sierra Mail with not allowing the DELETE key to archive mail in Gmail IMAP prompted me to try this avenue. Otherwise the DELETE key sends my mail to trash, and I do not want that.

I included the macro that I created to workaround the issue, and it works...however the problem is that outside of the mail app there is oftentimes a significant delay (1-3 seconds) when I use the DELETE key normally. I inserted the sound notification just so I know when and how the macro functions.

Thanks in advance for any advice and suggestions.

Keyboard Maestro “Archive Message in Mail” Macro

1 Like

Currently your macro is in the Global Macro Group, but you only need it when Mail is frontmost.

So, create another Macro Group that is only active when Mail app is frontmost, and put the macro into that group.

Otherwise KM has to check each time you hit the Delete key if Mail is frontmost. Which could be the reason for the delay.

@Tom: Bam! That was it. I wanted to do exactly that but being a new user didn’t know how to implement it. Thanks much!! …works flawlessly.

OK, now, with the macro in the Mail Macro Group, you can further optimize it a bit:

Done. Thanks again, @Tom! Being a former programmer, it looks like I’m going to have fun with this app. Cheers.

Welcome to the forum, and to the small group of us who are or have been programmers. A lot of old-timers here. I just turned 60, and most of the others have seen their share of sunrises too.

I've found KM to be a programmer's best dream. Not only can you do great things with it out of the box, but it also supports AppleScript, Swift, and my preference, JavaScript for Automation (JXA). Talk about heaven!