Macro Group - app specific

Been using KM for a year or so now and never had issues with the groups (not that this is a KM issue anyway). Today I noticed that I got an error when a macro was supposed to run, triggered by Hazel. Since Finder was not the front most app at the time and that group is specific to Finder, I got an error.

So I went to the wiki page (Macro Groups [Keyboard Maestro Wiki]) to check what it says.

Up until now, and because I never encountered any situation where this would show me an error, I was convinced that when assigning an app to a group (Finder, for example), it was more related to things triggered directly by the user, or things that actually needed the window to be visible, and then things that can happen "behind the scenes" would still run, for example if a macro would use an AppleScript to rename a folder, or move it somewhere. I'm not an expert on either AS or Shell, but I believe that these can run without the app they are targeting being visible, right? If so, I thought KM would be the same way, but I guess it's not?

Can you please confirm that any macro that's assigned to a particular app, regardless of what's inside (action wise), needs that app to be the front most app? Or are there any exceptions? If so, which?

Thanks!

Are you talking about macros in groups that are defined by the "Available in these applications" menu for the group? If so, then yes, those macros only run when those applications are frontmost—at least, that's my understanding of what that restriction does.

If you have macros you want to run from anywhere, put them in a group where there's no application restriction. If the macro is an AppleScript designed to work in Finder, more than likely it's got code in it to directly work with Finder, so it shouldn't care if Finder is frontmost. (And if it did have to be, activate application "Finder" would probably do the trick.)

-rob.

Yes, that's what I mean.