Macro Request: Exporting pdf search results into excel

Hello all,

I’m new to KM and scripting and wondering if I can get suggestions or feedback. Some background info:

I’m working with research articles (in .pdf format) and have a list of the articles in excel cloumn A (the list is a list of citations of the articles all in column A with different citations in different rows). Columns B, C, D and E I have labeled as different “keywords” that need to be found in the articles. Normally, I go through the articles and manually search each article with each keyword, switching back to excel to mark if the keyword is present or not (marking the keyword in the corresponding column B, C, D or E for the corresponding citation in column A).

I would like to automate the process for each of the files in a specific folder (all .pdf files). Here is what I have so far:

1. I start the KM Macro by prompting the user to enter a keyword, which I set as a variable (KeyWord) and have KM copy this variable to clipboard.

2. Next, I wrote an Applescript that searches a pdf with a keyword and outputs the page number(s) on which the keyword was found. If the word is not present, the script adds “NONE FOUND” to the clipboard (see script at the end of this post). I added an action in KM to run the script, in which I use the output of the system clipboard as the input into the search box for the keyword search in pdf.

3. I then have KM save the output (page numbers) in a new keyboard (named PageNumbers)

The macro works perfectly and does everything I need (for one selected file), but I’m having trouble integrating it into an actual automation. Here are the ideas/questions I would like to implement and would really appreciate any feedback (on this or the approach in general):