Macro to change font in Microsoft Office Applications

Hello - I am new to KM but I have browsed through these forums and other knowledge bases for KM and have not been able to find an answer.
How can I create a macro that will quickly allow me to set font type and color before I start typing in an MS Office application such as Outlook and Word? To be clear, the method of selecting text, copying to Clipboard and then format and paste it is not suitable for my workflow. I have tried simulating keystrokes (open the font menu, type the font name etc. but then I get stuck at changing font color since Outlook doesn't have a way for keystroke based navigation in the UI to change font color).
I am rather surprised that there are not more canned macros for common tasks like this (based on the number of posts that seem to be asking this question).

I don't have MS Office, but I do have Apple Pages. You can assign a hotkey to a paragraph style directly in Pages. You don't need KM to do that. I googled it and seem to have found web pages that say you can also do this in Microsoft Word. Are you aware of this? If so, is that not what you want to do?

It's not clear to me whether you want to set the style for an individual sequence of characters or an entire paragraph. I believe these are different mechanisms in MS Word. One is called character formatting and the other is called paragraph formatting. The solution would be different depending on which one you want.

I just want to change the font (type and color) quickly using a hot key and then start typing (Outlook or Word etc). So, I guess individual sequence of characters?

Thanks

Have you tried pasting in already font/colour formatted text and then selecting it, ready for you to over-type?

For some reason, Outlook seems to add a Return to the pasted text, so you need to go back twice:

Font:colour test.kmmacros (4.9 KB)