Macro to change style or color of text before I type it?

I'm new to KM. Is there a simple macro to change the style or color of text before I type the next word in a sentence?

Hi @luiz, welcome to the KM Forum.

Here is my solution for writing with different text colors in Apple Mail:

2020_09_05_Support_3

The KM palette is called with the text string trigger "yy" and the text color is changed with the first letter of the macro (R = Red).
If you want to change back to the system font color (here Black), you only have to press the stage key.

Here is the macro for this:

Text Color Mail Macros <F76A 200905T231442>.kmmacros (65,9 KB)

You can make further changes to the font, size etc. in the actions marked with the red arrow:

2 Likes

There is not a "canned" macro to do so, but you could easily create one for your specific needs.

If this is for a specific app, then you could use the Select or Show a Menu Item action to set the color and/or other style. Unfortunately, some apps, like TextEdit do not lend themselves to this type of automation.

So here's a simple, one-action Macro:

It will insert a SPACE that is formatted as you like, and then any following characters you type will use this format.

Example

Starting with this TextEdit document:
2020-09-05_17-06-17

after you finish typing "all", then trigger the macro
and type "good men"

2020-09-05_17-06-55

You can format the text in the "Insert Styled Text" Action using the KM menu Edit > Format:

2 Likes

Hi appleianer:

Thanks for your reply and for the macro.

I’m trying it out, but having trouble making it work.

I brought the macro into KM and typed “yy” as the string, but nothing happened. Then I saw that the string is actually “jj”, so I typed that but nothing happened again. What am I missing?

Danke!

Luiz