Manipulating specific controls in a window using AppleScript

Holy Crap! Maybe everyone already knows this, but I certainly didn’t. Thanks to @ccstone’s script about getting window information, I started playing around in AppleScript.

I discovered it is possible to manipulate controls in a window, using AppleScript. For example:

tell application "System Events"
	tell process "HandBrake"
		get value of text field 1 of window 1
	end tell
end tell

To get info on all controls in a window:

tell process "HandBrake"
		get entire contents of window 1
	end tell
end tell

Paste the contents into an editor of some kind and replace commas with newlines, for something a little more readable.

This opens up a “crap-ton” of possibilities (as a young friend of mine would say). I’m going to try to use this knowledge to change some of my macros that rely on found images to something better (hopefully).

But I’m throwing this out there so all you people with more technical knowledge than I have can come up with some methods of doing cool things. Have at it, people. Show us your brilliance!

@peternlewis - It would be cool if we could do something like “pause until control becomes enabled” - something that wouldn’t be quite as easy to do in AppleScript. Of course, having the full gamut of window control manipulation tools would be awesome… Here’s where you tell me why it’s too complicated or just not feasible - not complaining, just anticipating what usually happens when I come up with what I think is a brilliant idea. :stuck_out_tongue:

Hey Dan,

If you search for “System Events” on the forum you’ll find a bunch of stuff I and a few others have posted.

Xcode comes with the Accessibility Inspector.app. It doesn’t do a good job at providing human-readable information, but it will comprehensively describe the UI tree of elements it’s pointed at.